Reply To: Introduce Yourself

Home Forums Let’s Talk – Summer 2021 Introduce Yourself Reply To: Introduce Yourself

Steven Weisberg
Participant

A warm hello to my new found colleagues in the Life Writers program. My name is Steven Weisberg and I’m originally from Philadelphia, where I was born and schooled. I pursued my Education and a career in Broadcasting, where I had the life experiences as a copywriter, film and tape editor, program producer with an occasional performance on Radio and TV. The highlight of my career took me to the PBS affiliate in Miami, where I worked as a TV Program Director. In that capacity, I worked with the producers for the signature shows like American Experience, American Masters and documentaries from Ken Burns. I’ve always been fascinated by History; when I retired in 2015, I decided to work on recounting family stories.

I’ve completed coursework at the Birren Center for Guided Autobiographic Studies and the Certification Program in Reminiscence and Life Story Review from the University of Wisconsin. Both programs were very writing intensive with opportunities to read what we had written. I found writing life stories in a monologue format to be an interesting hybrid between a book recital and stand up comedy. Personally, I believe hearing one’s true authentic story, written in their own words and told in their own voice is a powerful way in which people connect at a deeper level of understanding.